Worshiping since 1946

Borden Chapel's History

The Borden Chapel Missionary Baptist Church was organized on August 6, 1946 under the leadership of Rev. J. W. Brent. Reverend Brent and a little faithful band committed themselves to the task of establishing a place of worship. Others taking an active part in organizing the church were the late Dr. E. H. Borden (in whom the church was named in his honor)and the late Dr O. B. Brent. The Reverend J.W. Brent remained as pastor until June 1947.

In August of 1947 the late Reverend I.H. Johnson became pastor. Reverend Johnson resigned in 1963 after 15 faithful years as pastor. Reverend Herman Lemell, Sr. served as pastor from 1963-1964. Reverend L.A. Sharpe served for seven months.

In October 1965 the late Reverend Perry Busby, Jr. became pastor. In 1971, Pastor Busby established a building program for the purpose of building a new sanctuary. In 3 years the program proved its fruitfulness and on April 7, 1974 we marched into our new edifice. Under the leadership of Pastor Busby and the Holy Spirit another building program was started. On April 25, 1982 we again marched into our new edifice. In 1985, our radio broadcast ministry was established on KALO 1250 AM and was continued on KQHN 1510 AM in 1999. Pastor Busby retired on November 6, 1994 after 29 years of divinely inspired leadership.

Reverend Robert D. Walker served as pastor from 1995-1996.

On February 10, 1997 were blessed with Reverend Dr. Airon Reynolds Jr. Pastor Reynolds has established several ministries to respond to the needs of our church familiy. Our congregation is affiliated with the Eastern Progressive District Association, the Progressive Baptist State Convention of Texas and the National Baptist Convention U.S.A., Inc. and One Church One Child of Southeast Texas.

Follow Borden Chapel


Borden Chapel